Sawm is the Fourth Pillar of Islam. This is the fasting. There are three types of Sawm: ritual fasting, fasting as compensation for repentance, and ascetic fasting.

Ritual fasting is obligatory during Ramadan. Muslims must abstain from food and drink from dawn until dusk during Ramadan, and are to be especially mindful of other sins–including sexual activity. It is necessary for every Muslim who has reached puberty. Exceptions are: medical conditions that prevent them from practicing Sawm, pre-pubescent children, elderly, and pregnant or breastfeeding women.

“Although fasting is beneficial to health, it is mainly a method of self-purification and self-restraint.” (Zahid). By cutting oneself from worldly comforts, a fasting person focuses on their life purpose by constantly being aware of the presence of God (Allah). It also helps teach them sympathy for those who go hungry. You will find a passage about fasting in the Quran (Sura 2:183).



Posted on July 12, 2012, in Religion and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: