This is the First Pillar of Islam. Every religion has a declaration of faith; shahadah is the Muslim statement of faith. It expresses the two simple, fundamental beliefs that make one a Muslim. The words are:

لا إله إلا الله محمد رسول الله

La ilaha illa Allah wa-Muhammad rasul Allah.

There is no God but Allah, and Muhammad is his prophet.

These words must be sincerely said. One must say before two Muslims to become a member of the Muslim community. It represents acceptance of Allah and Islam in its entirety. It must be recited aloud and correctly. It must also be said with full understanding and internal assent at least once in every Muslim’s life.

“The shahada  is also recited in the muzzein’s call to prayer, included in the salat (daily ritual prayer) and incorporated in Sufi contemplative prayer. It is also recited in the moments before death.” (Anonymous).



Posted on June 29, 2012, in Religion and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: