Throat Chakra

Throat ChakraThe Throat Chakra (a.k.a. Vishuddha), located on the throat, is the fifth chakra. It has to do with communication. The sense associated is hearing. This chakra is also associated with the throat, the neck, the thyroid gland, the arms, the hands, and the brachial cervix.

It can be symbolized with a chalice, or a sixteen-petaled flower. Its musical note is G. Its element is ether/sound. Its planets are Mercury and Neptune. The deities connected with this chakra are: Bride, Ganga, Hermes, Mercury, the Muses, Sarasvati, Seshat, and Thoth. The elephant, the lion, and the bull are this chakra’s associated animals. The gemstones are: aquamarine, turquoise, tourmaline, and chalcedony. Mercury is the metal. Aromas associated are sage and eucalyptus. The incenses are benzoin and frankincense.

Blue and silver are the color of this chakra. In terms of the aura, blue (the most common of the two colors) represents calm, peace, collectedness, communication, generosity, on the right path, truth, and clarity. When it is dark or muddy, it means fear of the future, fear of self-expression, or fear of facing or speaking the truth. Silver is the color of abundance (both spiritual and physical), receptive to new ideas, intuitiveness, and nurturing. A dark and muddy gray means residue of fear accumulating in the body, potential for health problems.

This chakra seeks communication and clear expression. This can be expressed verbally, written, or artistically. It is also associated with clairaudience.

Under-Active Chakra

  • Inability to accept things.
  • Inability to work with situations.
  • Loss of voice, sore throats, coughing, and/or difficulty breathing.
  • Worry about what you have said.

Over-Active Chakra

  • Always taking control of things, or others’ lives.
  • Gossip frequently.
  • Condemn people or situations.
  • Chatter.

Open Chakra

  • Able to accept things as they are.
  • Able to take responsibility for your personal needs.
  • Unafraid to say what needs to be said.
  • We say things from a place of love.

Obviously, you want you chakra to be open. Some words to know are: self-knowledge, truth, faith, attitudes, hearing, and speaking. A good affirmation is: “I speak and I’m heard.” Another one is: “I listen to others and they listen to me.”

There are some spiritual lessons with this chakra. One of them is confession. Another is surrendering personal will over to divine will. You also need to learn to have faith and never lose it. The final lesson is truthfulness over deceit.


Posted on June 3, 2012, in Energy/Lightwork and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: