Root Chakra

Root ChakraThe Root Chakra (a.k.a. Base Chakra, and Muladhara), located at the base of the spine or coccyx, is the first chakra. It has to do with survival. The senses it is associated with are smell and taste. This chakra is also associated with adrenal glands, kidneys, muscles, and arterial blood.

It can be symbolized with a square, or a four-petaled flower. Its musical note is C. Its element is earth/physical. Its planets are Earth and Saturn. The deities connected with the root chakra are: Anat, Ceridwen, Dakini, Demeter, Erda, Ereshkigal, Gaia, Ganesh, and Lakshmi. The elephant, the ox, and the bull are associated with this chakra. The gemstones are: agate, bloodstone, garnet, red coral, and ruby. Lead is the metal. Aromas associated are: patchouli, cedar, and clove. Some incenses are: cedar, musk, patchouli, and sandalwood.

Red is the color of this chakra. This color symbolizes life, vitality, strength and the physical nature of humankind. In nature, red represents heat and fire. In the aura, red can represent power, anger, sexuality, love, compassion, immaturity, and/or confidence. It is all about the physical nature.

This chakra links us to the physical world, solidity, and support. It’s the foundation. It also involves Earth, survival, grounding, and stillness.

Under-Active Chakra

  • If you tend to be fearful or nervous.
  • Easily feel unwelcome.
  • Tired or lethargic.
  • Over-cautious.
  • Lack of confidence.
  • May harbor self-destructive tendencies.

Over-Active Chakra

  • If this chakra is over-active, you may be very materialistic or greedy.
  • Obsessed with being secure.
  • Resist change.
  • Difficulty sleeping.
  • Aggression.

Open Chakra

  • Feel stable.
  • Feel grounded.
  • Feel secure.
  • Feel a strong connection to yourself and those around you.
  • If some areas of life aren’t working, you’re confident they will work out.

You know the differences between under-active, over-active, and open for this chakra. As you can figure, you want your chakra to be open. The key words you need to know and believe to help keep your chakra open are: grounded, present, safe, secure, and healthy. A good affirmation is “I am.”

There are some life lessons with this chakra. They are connecting with your parents, family, and tribe. The other two are survival and procreation. Learn to develop and open this chakra. It is your foundation.


Posted on May 26, 2012, in Energy/Lightwork and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: